What To Take To A Blogging Conference

Screen Shot 2015-01-13 at 11.49.53 AM

Hey everyone! I have some exciting news – I am going to be at to the Build Your Blog Conference this year in Salt Lake! Yay! I am super duper excited to be going this year to this 2-day conference.

I have already come up with a checklist of things that I need to bring, and I thought I would share it with you today 🙂

Cause I’m cool like that!

What you will definitely need to bring:

1. A bag

If you are going to be carrying around all your notes, food, swag, etc. You are going to need a good, big bag to hold it all. You can find a bunch of cute ones on Amazon or Target.

2. Food

Sure, there might be food trucks or something like that – but you will never know when you will suddenly have a craving for some snacks! That’s why I normally bring pumpkin seeds, nuts, a fruit leather, etc. But you could also bring something like a lollipop, chocolate, or bacon – whatever you are into – I don’t judge!

3. A notepad/notebook

Why yes, you will be taking a bunch of notes! I can’t stand when people take bad notes. Actually, now that I think about it, maybe there will be a post tomorrow about taking good notes. (wink wink 😉 ) Some people in my family do this *cough Dad & Night cough* and it drives me batty!!! By the way, Night is my brothers code name. Unless you are my grandma or my aunt you will never know his true identity. Mwuahahahahahaha! But seriously, this is a must have!

4. Your Phone

Of course! You will totally need your smart phone to take pictures if you either 1. don’t have a DSLR camera or 2. don’t want to lug your DSLR camera everywhere. Plus you will probably need it for calling and texting. Or playing games. 🙂

5. Pens!

If you are like me, you like to color code – so I use different colors to mark different important things. I will talk about it in tomorrows post. Plus you will need some extra pens if you are a really nice person and share with others who forgot/lost theirs.

6. iPad/tablet

If you are more modern and like to take notes with your iPad, bring it!!

7. Business Cards

Yes! You just met your blogger idol and she asks for your card. You want to have those on hand!

8. A firm handshake!

This isn’t something you pack but something you do need! Don’t be a slimy fish

dead-fish-handshake1

and don’t shake to hard!

540_293_resize_20130801_9c3b9b2c01409ee072d90beefe1ed07d_jpg

Here is what you SHOULD do:

how_to_give_a_proper_handshake

What you might need to bring:

1. Gum/Mints

Don’t have bad breath!

2. A power strip

If you are sharing a room with 3-4 people there might not be enough plugs for you all, so bring a power strip just in case

3. A portable charger

Let’s say you forget a power strip, and the other people in your room called the 2 plugs first. Your phone is dead and you need to take pictures tonight! You sure will be glad you brought that portable charger!

4. DSLR camera

To take some awesome photos!

5. Gifts

As a peace offering to the people you are staying with! You could maybe do a cute (but cheap) necklace or glasses, or a blanket to keep them warm.

7. Media Kits!

So that those awesome companies know that you are also super duper awesome!

So that’s about it for what to bring to the conference. Are any of you going? Comment below and tell me if I will see you at the 2015 Build Your Blog Conference! ❤ See you there!!!!!!!

XOXO, Coco

SUBSCRIBE TO HOMESCHOOLAPALOOZA

Did you enjoy this post?  Then stick around and subscribe to my latest posts and updates. The follow button is at the top of my sidebar! Don’t worry – I hate spam, too.

HAVE SOMETHING TO ADD?

Please share it in the comments below.  I always love hearing feedback from you – so go ahead! Tell me what you are thinking!

Linking up at Found And Foraged Link Party ❤

20 thoughts on “What To Take To A Blogging Conference

  1. Since I’ve yet to attend my first blogging conference, I’m looking very to using these tips when I do. Thank you for posting such a well written description with lots of great pics and notes. 😀

  2. You are set! I live just 30 miles South of Salt Lake and I have never been to one of these. Didn’t realize there was one being held here soon. Have fun and can’t wait to see what you share when you get back. I’ll be looking forward to hearing about those handshakes. lol! Thanks for linking to SYC.
    hugs,
    Jann

Leave A Comment!

